Cape Minstrels: The Beach Boys
You are Here: News -> Presidential inauguration to take place on 9 May

Presidential inauguration to take place on 9 May

Return to previous page.

Presidential inauguration to take place on 9 May

by BuaNews Online
27 Apr 2009
BuaNews Online
BuaNews Online

South Africa's third democratically elected President will be inaugurated during a ceremony at the Union Buildings on 9 May 2009.

Tens of thousands of people are also expected to crowd into the grounds of the Union Buildings lawns to witness the ceremony, organisers have also placed 100 big television screens with live up-links across the country for those who cannot attend.

The ceremony is expected to be attended by the Heads of State from all corners of the world, premiers and royalty and representatives from international organisations such as the United Nations, the African Union, the Southern Africa Development Community and others.

The theme for the event is: '"Together, celebrating a vibrant democracy and building a better life for all".

Ahead of the inauguration, the National Assembly will have its first sitting on 6 May where Chief Justice and the Head of the Constitutional Court Pius Langa will swear in the new Cabinet and Members of Parliament.

The first sitting of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) will take place on 7 May.

Parliament is made up of two houses - the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces. There are 400 Members of Parliament in the National Assembly and 90 members of the National Council of Provinces.

Depending on the proportion of votes that parties received in the general election, political parties will also receive their seats in Parliament. Members of Parliament are appointed by their political parties from lists that the parties compile.

The ANC clinched 264 seats in the Nationally Assembly, the DA 67, Cope 30, IFP 18, PAC 1, UCDP 1, UDM 2, ID 4 and MF got 1 seat.

If there is only one nomination for each of these positions, the nominated candidate is duly elected. If more than one nomination is received, the National Assembly elects the candidate by secret ballot.
Once sworn in, the Chief Justice announces the procedure for the election of the President of the Republic and the Parliamentary Speaker. The President, once elected, stops being a member of the National Assembly and must assume duty within five days.
The sitting of the NCOP on the following day will include swearing in of members as well as election of Chairperson and deputy chairperson.

The NCOP represents the provinces to ensure that their interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government as stated in the Constitution.

The new President will thereafter give his State of the Nation address on 3 June, outlining the new administration's programme of action. - BuaNews

Return to previous page.

From our Directory

Need to stock up on stationery for school, projects or the office? Athlone Stationers has a full range of stationery products available. Give them a call on 0216963663.

Coastal Corporate Registrations in Marrakech Village in Vangate City can help your business get registered. They can assist with company name reservations, company registrations and other business secretarial services. Give them a call now on 0216337711.

Want to give your home or office a new look? Artistic Blinds in Rondebosch East offers supply and installation of high quality blinds and related services. Give them a call now on 021-6973342.

Contact Us | About | Copyright | Advertising | Disclaimer

Website Design by BMSC-Online